Classic Albums: Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers - Damn The Torpedoes

Eagle Rock   (2010) / Region All
Classic Albums: Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers - Damn The Torpedoes

Sign In to hide.

Free Shipping
Orders of $25.00 or more will be shipped our Standard Shipping option and the shipping is completely FREE. Learn more

Notify Me

Additional Blu-ray Versions

Classic Albums: Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers - Damn The Torpedoes

The third album by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, released in 1979, has long been regarded as a classic. A mix of rootsy American Rock 'n' Roll and the best of the British invasion, of jangling Byrds guitars and Stones-like rhythms, 'Damn The Torpedoes' was the album that took Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers into major league, and re-defined American rock.

This DVD tells the story behind the creation of this great Rock 'n' Roll album and the dramatic transformation in the band's career that took place following its release. Through interviews, news and archive performances and analysis we discover how Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair and Stan Lynch created their songs and sounds with the help of co-producer Jimmy Lovine and Engineer Shelly Yakus.

Recorded during a dramatic period in the band's history where they were fighting for their creative independence, the album is imbued with the anger and the gutsy attitude the band were portraying in their battle for professional freedom.

Many songs from the album are still played live, and form an important part of Tom Petty's terrific body of work. They include 'Refugee', 'Here Comes My Girl', 'Even The Losers', 'Shadow Of A Doubt', 'Don't Do Me Like That', 'Louisiana Rain', 'You Tell Me' and "Century City'.

'Damn The Torpedoes' Stands as one of the great records of the late '7-s and the early '80s, and is truly a Classic Album


  • Length
  • Rating NR
  • Released:
  • Added Jul 02 2010
  • Production Year 2010
  • Empire SKU 1540243
  • UPC Code 801213029396
  • Studio  Eagle Rock
  • Packaging Keep
  • Number of Discs 1
  • Disc SS-SL
  • Subtitles Dutch, English, French, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish


Contains Over 42 Minutes Of Additional Material Not Included In The TV Broadcast


  • Audio
    English Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Video
    Widescreen 1.85:1 Color

Review "Classic Albums: Tom Petty And "

Film Rating
(Slide to Set Rating)


Alias is displayed publicly
All submitted comments become the sole property of DVD Empire. DVD Empire reserves the right to not post this comment for any reason.
   or     Cancel

Reviews for "Classic Albums: Tom Petty And "