American Roots Music

Palm Studio   (2001) / Region All
American Roots Music

Sign In to hide.

Free Shipping
Orders of $25.00 or more will be shipped our Standard Shipping option and the shipping is completely FREE. Learn more

Notify Me

Narrated by Kris Kristofferson

American Roots Music is a landmark 4-episode, 4-hour documentary series featuring historic and contemporary footage of many of the 20th century's pioneering artists, including Jimmie Rodgers, The Carter Family, Muddy Waters, B.B. King, Bob Wills, Hank Williams, Bill Monroe, Earl Scruggs, Mahalia Jackson, Clifton Chenier, Woody Guthrie and many more.

Like America itself, this historic television series is diverse in its scope, democratic in its intentions, and dense with riches. From city or country, black or white, these sounds emerged from a cultural maze to define our country's musical heritage. These are the "roots" of America's popular music - blues, country, gospel, folk, Cajun, zydeco, bluegrass, tejano and Native American.

Episode One - When First Unto This Country

Episode Two - This Land Was Made For You And Me

Episode Three - The Times They Are A-Changin'

Episode Four - All My Children Of The Sun


  • Length
  • Rating NR
  • Released:
  • Added Sep 05 2001
  • Production Year 2001
  • Empire SKU 39720
  • UPC Code 660200303921
  • Studio  Palm Studio
  • Packaging Custom
  • Number of Discs 1
  • Disc SS-SL


4 Episodes In One 2-DVD Set
Previously Unavailable Archival Footage
Timeline Of American Roots Music


  • Audio
    English Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Video
    Standard 1.33:1 Color

Review "American Roots Music"

Film Rating
(Slide to Set Rating)


Alias is displayed publicly
All submitted comments become the sole property of DVD Empire. DVD Empire reserves the right to not post this comment for any reason.
   or     Cancel

Reviews for "American Roots Music"