Ray Campi: Rockabilly Man

Cherry Red   / Region All
Ray Campi: Rockabilly Man

Sign In to hide.

Free Shipping
Orders of $25.00 or more will be shipped our Standard Shipping option and the shipping is completely FREE. Learn more

Notify Me

Customers Who Bought This Product Also Bought

Ray Campi: Rockabilly Man

Ray Campi formed his first band - Ramblin' Ray & The Ramblers, way back in 1949. He has been playing his brand of American Roots Music on stages all over the world ever since. Though his repertoire includes a substantial dose of Country and Western Swing, it is among Rockabilly enthusiasts that Ray has gained his legendary status. Not only did he cut records which are now regarded as Rockabilly classics in the genre's 1950s heyday, he was partly responsible for sparking the 1970s/80s Rockabilly Revival via his releases on Ronny Weiser's infamous Rollin' Rock Records.

Rollin' Rock was founded as a magazine in 1970, with the record label being formed the following year. Weiser's limitless enthusiasm for Rockabilly music led to him rediscovering and recording numerous artists of the Rockabilly era including Gene Vincent, Mac Curtis, Charlie Feathers, Jackie Lee Cochran and Johnny Carroll. He also unleashed a whole roster of new young artists to keep the Rockabilly flame burning.

The most prolific artist on Rollin' Rock was Ray Campi. Not only did Campi release a string of singles, EPs and albums, many of which were licensed and distributed world-wide, his multi-instrumental talents can be heard provided guitar, slap-bass and percussion on many released by the label's other artists. The Rollin' Rock Tour on 1977 was a phenomenal success in Europe, and headliners Campi and Mac Curtis became cult figures.

In the mid 1980s Rollin' Rock Records ceased issuing new material, but Campi's profile was maintained via live appearances, such as the show captured on this DVD, and with archive material being leased to specialist labels worldwide. The 90s saw several new releases, often in collaboration with other roots and rockabilly artists including Rose Flories and Dave Alvin, and in Europe with The Bellhops, The Lennerockers and the Hal Peters Trio. In fact, at the time of writing, his latest album "One More Hope" is his second collaboration with Rockabilly trio The Bellhops.

Campi has been performing and recording first class Roots and Rockabilly music for almost 50 years now, and with more festival dates lined up, shows no sign of giving up.

Songs Include:

  • Rockabilly Man
  • Hollywood Cats
  • Where My Baby Goes
  • Lucky To Be In Love
  • My Hearts On Fire
  • Cherokee Boogie
  • Wild Side Of Life
  • Release Me
  • How Low Can You Feel
  • Caterpillar
  • Booze It
  • It Ain't Me
  • Quit Your Triflin'
  • Rattlin Daddy
  • I'm Coming Home
  • Honky Tonk Man
  • Pan American Boogie
  • Tore Up
  • Steel Guitar Rag
  • Rockin At The Ritz


  • Length
  • Rating NR
  • Released:
  • Added May 23 2007
  • Empire SKU 1331368
  • UPC Code 5013929935655
  • Studio  Cherry Red
  • Packaging Keep
  • Number of Discs 1
  • Disc SS-DL


Features Not Specified.


  • Audio
    English Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Video
    Standard 1.33:1 Color

Review "Ray Campi: Rockabilly Man"

Film Rating
(Slide to Set Rating)


Alias is displayed publicly
All submitted comments become the sole property of DVD Empire. DVD Empire reserves the right to not post this comment for any reason.
   or     Cancel

Reviews for "Ray Campi: Rockabilly Man"