This Is Soul

E1 Entertainment   / Region All
This Is Soul

Sign In to hide.

Free Shipping
Orders of $25.00 or more will be shipped our Standard Shipping option and the shipping is completely FREE. Learn more


Customers Who Bought This Product Also Bought

This Is Soul

Great soul legends in a star-studded live concert. James Brown, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Ben E. King, Percy Sledge and many other pioneers of soul come together to sing hits and other numbers for a charged-up audience. I Heard It Through the Grapevine, Spanish Harlem, Band of Gold, Right Back Where We Started From, Walkin' the Dog ... these and a host of other well-loved songs revive the moment when soul dominated the pop charts, and everything from James Brown's earthy funk to the smooth choreography of the Pips was part of the style.

Other artists heard here include the great Rufus Thomas - who brought vaudeville intensity and humor to funk - and Jerry Butler, whose Hey, Western Union Man is a classic of Philly R&B. Tyrone Davis sings Turn Back the Hands of Time; Maxine Nightingale sings Lead Me On. And the concert closes with the stars joining Gladys Knight for a rousing uptempo Heard It Through the Grapevine.

Tracks include:

James Brown

  • Rapp Payback (Where Iz Moses
  • Jam

Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me
  • Midnight Train To Georgia

Ben E. King

  • Spanish Harlem
  • I (Who Have Nothing)

Tyrone Davis

  • Turn Back The Hands Of Time

Maxine Nightingale

  • Lead Me On
  • Right Back Where We Started From

Rufus Thomas

  • (Do The) Push And Pull
  • Walkin' The Dog

Carla Thomas

  • I Like What You're Doing (To Me)

Jerry Butler

  • Hey, Western Union Man

Freda Payne

  • Band Of Gold

Percy Sledge

  • You Had To Be There

Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • Neither One Of Us
  • I Heard It Through The Grapevine


  • Length
  • Rating NR
  • Released:
  • Added Sep 22 2006
  • Empire SKU 1218119
  • UPC Code 821838440598
  • Studio  E1 Entertainment
  • Packaging Keep
  • Number of Discs 1
  • Disc SS-SL


· Commentary About Soul Music By: Leon Isaac Kennedy, Ben E. King, James Brown, and Tyrone Davis
· Vintage Clip: Otis Redding - Satisfaction


  • Audio
    English Dolby Digital 5.1
    English Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Video
    Standard 1.33:1 Color

Review "This Is Soul"

Film Rating
(Slide to Set Rating)


Alias is displayed publicly
All submitted comments become the sole property of DVD Empire. DVD Empire reserves the right to not post this comment for any reason.
   or     Cancel

Reviews for "This Is Soul"